Bio-attack on the Capitol Mall? Tularemia and peace protest

The Black Flag Cafe is the place travelers come to share stories and advice. Moderated by Robert Young Pelton the author of The World's Most Dangerous Places.

Moderator: coldharvest

Bio-attack on the Capitol Mall? Tularemia and peace protest

Postby soren » Sun Oct 02, 2005 12:03 am

There are some articles about this here:

ABC News: Rare Germ Found in D.C., but No Terror Fears

Airborne Bacteria May Have Been In Air Over DC, CDC Says

As a biologist, I notice and remember odd things, and I did see a dead rat on the capitol mall, apparently well-fed and uninjured, otherwise healthy looking, and fresh enough not to be visibly decaying, but old enough, or smelly enough, to have attracked a bot fly that was checking it out, crawling over its soft gray fur. It was on the steps leading to one of the Smithsonian Museums. I didn't pick it up or look at it too closely, because I am not stupid (in that way). I pantomimed that I was going to eat it, so I was able to confirm this memory with someone else that was there. I forgot to ask when exactly they remembered this, but I am pretty sure it was at the end of the march. Probably just a coincidence. However, if I were responsible for public health in a city like D.C., I would have a freezer full of dead rats like this (and rabbits, squirrels, etc.) and have systematic collection and reporting of them by city maintenance personnel.

Anyway, I think this event and its timing is really odd, and it is a reminder that our government (for those of in the U.S.) has never fully explained the anthrax attacks that happened around 9/11.