Communicating in the middle of nowhere/sat phones?

questions, comments , film clips and pictures on guns and weapons and HEST.

Moderator: Hitoru

Communicating in the middle of nowhere/sat phones?

Postby ktrout » Fri Apr 25, 2008 8:09 pm

I'm planning on making a solitary unsupported trip across the US this summer by bicycle.
Since there are broad areas where GSM service is unavailable I was thinking of renting a satellite phone for a few hundred bucks.
A few minutes of research says that the new Iridium network is the best bet.
HAM radio is another option I was considering.
Any experience people can relay about this?
Be nice to me. I'm a rug muncher.
ktrout
BFCus Regularus

Postby Mikethehack » Fri Apr 25, 2008 8:50 pm

That is news to me.
I would have thought that almost everywhere in the US would have some sort of cellular coverage. Why not take a tri-band phone for where there is no GSM coverage.
I'm not really a proper reporter, due to the chronic lack of discipline, negligible attention span, and a certain juvenile difficulty taking serious things seriously.
Andrew Mueller.
Mikethehack
Pimpmasterus Generalismus

Postby redharen » Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:05 pm

Man, that just seems like a really expensive option...I'd only do it if money were absolutely not an issue. Seems like if you're in a dead zone, half an hour of riding would get you back in normal cell phone coverage.

I mean, M-A did her long bike trip all over the place -- did she bother with a sat phone? On my last walking trip in the desert, I had several days with no signal. I guess I probably wouldn't be so worried about it.

You could just take a cell phone and hedge your bets old-school -- with a handheld CB radio.
redharen
small ax

Postby kylie » Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:32 pm

I would have thought that almost everywhere in the US would have some sort of cellular coverage.