Digital Camera That Uses AA Batteries

questions, comments , film clips and pictures on guns and weapons and HEST.

Moderator: Hitoru

Digital Camera That Uses AA Batteries

Postby JamesInTheWorld » Wed Sep 15, 2010 11:23 am

Looking for a Digital Camera That Uses AA Batteries and:

- Takes good flash macro photos
- Uses SD cards
- No bigger than a pack of smokes
- When you turn it off a shield automatically covers the lenses
- Has a tripod mount screw hole

I am trying to replace every electronic item I have to only ones that use AA batteries but AA cameras are apparently not that common anymore

Thanks Yo!

~JITW
International Civilian Contractor Jobs
High Paying International Jobs
Iraq - Afghanistan - Asia - Europe
www.CivilianContractorJobs.com
User avatar
JamesInTheWorld
I HOPE YOU GET HIT BY A BUS
 
Posts: 7924
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: My Job is More Interesting Than Your Vacation

Re: Digital Camera That Uses AA Batteries

Postby thewalrus » Wed Sep 15, 2010 1:28 pm

If you go to www.newegg.com, find the digital cameras section, choose Canon, sort by price and choose the cheapest ones, you should find some...

I believe the cheapest Canons (around $120 each) still use AA, they can run off AA alkaline or rechargeable batteries.

However all of the AA based digital cameras have pretty crap features and are the bottom of the barrel image quality wise.

I just bought a Canon SD1400IS, which is freaking tiny, and it gets a really long battery life. The battery is a lithium polymer based thing. The charger is really small also. It records 720p video.
User avatar
thewalrus
BFCus Regularus
 
Posts: 2172
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 6:43 pm
Location: Earth

Re: Digital Camera That Uses AA Batteries

Postby mapandcompass » Mon Oct 18, 2010 7:23 pm

Members of my family have been very pleased with their Olympus cameras.... something like this:

http://www.olympusamerica.com/cpg_secti ... page=specs

It's a little bigger than what you're after but having used a couple models like this, I can honestly say that with a little practice I'd rather have this one than my DSLR with its bulky lenses and oddball battery. For all but the most demanding shots, something like the above model will get the job done!
mapandcompass
BFCus Regularus
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 2:50 am
Location: Way out West

Re: Digital Camera That Uses AA Batteries

Postby JamesInTheWorld » Wed Oct 20, 2010 3:23 pm

Image

Sweet dude - Thanks, but a bit too big for me pocket

But still a "buy"


~JITW
International Civilian Contractor Jobs
High Paying International Jobs
Iraq - Afghanistan - Asia - Europe
www.CivilianContractorJobs.com
User avatar
JamesInTheWorld
I HOPE YOU GET HIT BY A BUS
 
Posts: 7924
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: My Job is More Interesting Than Your Vacation

Re: Digital Camera That Uses AA Batteries

Postby RYP » Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:51 pm

Buy a real camera like a Nikon D700 they take AA's as an option in the motor drive. Failing that you are just gonna have to buy a low end Target kinda camera.
User avatar
RYP
Ownerus Websiteus Authorus
 
Posts: 27744
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 3:42 am

Re: Digital Camera That Uses AA Batteries

Postby marie-angelique » Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:29 pm

i love mine:
Image
they probably have a newer, cheaper, better version of that now.
"Give me control of your TV and I could have you sticking bullets in the backs of peoples heads within a month." nowonmai

"anything you say sounds dirty to me."
User avatar
marie-angelique
Coonass
 
Posts: 5986
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 12:24 am
Location: over the rainbow

Re: Digital Camera That Uses AA Batteries

Postby rickshaw92 » Sat Oct 23, 2010 11:02 pm

marie-angelique wrote:i love mine:
Image
they probably have a newer, cheaper, better version of that now.




Got one aswell. Gotta love the image stabelization, great if you are the type of traveller who spends most of his time utterly shitfaced and high as a kite. This camera gets the Rickshaw92 seal of approval.
Im reallly fuclimg pissed but fespite that I can still hit a tarfet at 1000m plus. mayVRVe bnot tonight but it qint beyond the wit if man. Nowhammy.
User avatar
rickshaw92
Pikey Bastard
 
Posts: 8982
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 1:28 am
Location: Airport Inn trailer park

Re: Digital Camera That Uses AA Batteries

Postby Royal » Tue Oct 26, 2010 8:44 am

Similar to what RYP mentioned.
My huge (dinosaur) Nikon D100, with grip, has a tray for using AA batteries if you're unable to use two rechargeable batteries, & that's an old 2002 camera.
Image We have no effective screening methods to make sure pilots are sane.— Dr. Herbert Haynes, FAA.
User avatar
Royal
BABE MAGNET
 
Posts: 2581
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 1:35 pm
Location: Asia-Pacific region

Re: Digital Camera That Uses AA Batteries

Postby JamesInTheWorld » Wed Oct 27, 2010 7:53 pm

RYP wrote:Buy a real camera like a Nikon D700 they take AA's as an option in the motor drive. Failing that you are just gonna have to buy a low end Target kinda camera.


Too big, don't need all that camera - but thanks anyway


~JITW
International Civilian Contractor Jobs
High Paying International Jobs
Iraq - Afghanistan - Asia - Europe
www.CivilianContractorJobs.com
User avatar
JamesInTheWorld
I HOPE YOU GET HIT BY A BUS
 
Posts: 7924
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: My Job is More Interesting Than Your Vacation

Re: Digital Camera That Uses AA Batteries

Postby JarheadJournalist » Tue Feb 08, 2011 9:39 am

I use a Nikon D90 with a battery grip that takes AA batteries. But I also use a small Sony Cybershot S2100. It takes good pictures and is a no frills point 'n' shoot that takes AA batteries. It looks like these type of cameras are quickly going extinct though.

Here is a list of many small and medium size cameras that take AA batteries natively (without a special battery grip or adapter).
http://reviews.cnet.com/2300-6501_7-100 ... mncol;page
If you want Peace, prepare for Warren.
User avatar
JarheadJournalist
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 2:38 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Digital Camera That Uses AA Batteries

Postby kilroy » Wed Feb 09, 2011 4:40 am

nikon coolpix l22
Image
weight: 6.5 oz
3.9x2.4x1.1 inches
takes AA batteries
sd compatible
self shuttering lens (put not a shit load of protection from the look of it)
12 megapixels
3.6x optical zoom
sounds like exactly what you're after

or if you wanna go old school and a lil smaller and don't mind a shitty 3x zoom and 4 megapixels get an optio s40
4.4 oz
3.5x2.3x1 inches
Image
when they ask how you feeling
you tell em you feeling like something important died screaming
you tell em you feeling like something even more important arrived breathing
something you should probably try feeding
User avatar
kilroy
BFCus Regularus
 
Posts: 5691
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:34 am
Location: Alabambam

Re: Digital Camera That Uses AA Batteries

Postby redfax » Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:18 am

If you put two AAs in a pack of smokes, you don't have a lot of space left for the electronics & optics.
Mr. Andrea Matranga
andreamatranga.googlepages.com
-----------------------------------------------------------
"Those who aren't afraid to die for their ideals, can only die once. The others die every day."
Paolo Borsellino, who only died once
User avatar
redfax
BFCus Regularus
 
Posts: 2019
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:28 pm
Location: Barcelona

Re: Digital Camera That Uses AA Batteries

Postby JamesInTheWorld » Wed Feb 09, 2011 1:59 pm

Hmmm... this looks like a good contender

Image

~JITW
International Civilian Contractor Jobs
High Paying International Jobs
Iraq - Afghanistan - Asia - Europe
www.CivilianContractorJobs.com
User avatar
JamesInTheWorld
I HOPE YOU GET HIT BY A BUS
 
Posts: 7924
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: My Job is More Interesting Than Your Vacation


Return to Guns, Knives, Gear, Tech and ....STUFF!!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron