Thai/Cambodian Border

The Black Flag Cafe is the place travelers come to share stories and advice. Moderated by Robert Young Pelton the author of The World's Most Dangerous Places.

Moderator: coldharvest

Thai/Cambodian Border

Postby Chang Yai » Fri Feb 25, 2011 4:55 am

Hey

Newbie here. I'm taking off to Thailand next week to visit my Fiance's family in Sisaket Thailand -- on the Cambodian border. There was a recent exchange of artillery between the 2 nations over a disputed temple. My girl had to leave her home and stay in a bunker during the shelling. I have stayed there before and I love the simple lifestyle (bathing with a bucket of water, cooking on a dirt floor, owning next to nothing.). I guess my question is: How safe is this area now? I've been following the Bangkok Post and it doesn't seem completely resolved. I don't mind--I'm still going. Just wanted to know if I should dig a "ranger grave" for myself or take any other precautions.

Thanks.

Btw....I'm NOT trying to pump my blog, but I write one about this area. If you are interested, here's a link. No Ads. Just journals and pics. Not sure if I'm allowed to post this or not. If not, please forgive me.

http://myfuckedupvacations.blogspot.com ... agogo.html
Chang Yai

Re: Thai/Cambodian Border

Postby rickshaw92 » Fri Feb 25, 2011 10:55 am

to visit my Fiance's family in Sisaket Thailand

Your not some dumb assed white geezer that fell for a bar girl are you?
Im reallly fuclimg pissed but fespite that I can still hit a tarfet at 1000m plus. mayVRVe bnot tonight but it qint beyond the wit if man. Nowhammy.
rickshaw92
Pikey Bastard

Postby Chang Yai » Fri Feb 25, 2011 3:32 pm

Nice manners a-hole. No, dickwad. Im a muay thai instructor. I am white, I'm not a geezer, and my girls a relative of one of the fighters I train with. Thanks for posting something usefull
Chang Yai

Postby Sri Lanky » Fri Feb 25, 2011 4:45 pm

You might be useful....we'll see grasshopper. ; )

haha...way to go,Rick.
Sri Lanky