Better off crossing via the Allenby Bridge then Ben Gurion?

The Black Flag Cafe is the place travelers come to share stories and advice. Moderated by Robert Young Pelton the author of The World's Most Dangerous Places.

Moderator: coldharvest

Better off crossing via the Allenby Bridge then Ben Gurion?

Postby mountainwiccan » Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:22 pm

Ok Brit female here planning a trip to the West Bank (Hebron) in the next few month or so.
Originally I planned to simply fly into Ben-Gurion and take it from there. I have kind of had a re-think because of the intensity of Israeli security at this particular border. Right off the bat, I'm not a human rights activist and I'm not going there for any other reason than the fact that it's a place I've had on my tick list (i.e the West Bank). The problem is that when I was an undergraduate student a few years ago studying Human Rights, I took to signing anti-Israel online petitions in my own name (yeah pretty idiotic in retrospect).

The point is that, I understand that if individuals are singled out at the airport they undergo "enhanced security and background checks" - anyone know what this entails because if it involves googling my name then I'm pretty much screwed I guess.

I considered flying into Amman and crossing via the Allenby Bridge (if it's open) with the hope that their security may be marginally less intensive. Also, if they turn me away at Allenby, at least I can go back into Jordan rather than losing the cost of my flight which could happen at Ben Gurion

Cheers!
"I have every sympathy with the American who was so horrified by what he had read of the effects of smoking that he gave up reading" - Henry G Strauss
mountainwiccan

Re: Better off crossing via the Allenby Bridge then Ben Guri

Postby coldharvest » Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:30 pm

crossing via the Allenby Bridge (if it's open) with the hope that their security may be marginally less intensive.

Israel isn't really know for it's slack border crossings.