Mogadishu, Somalia

The Black Flag Cafe is the place travelers come to share stories and advice. Moderated by Robert Young Pelton the author of The World's Most Dangerous Places.

Moderator: coldharvest

Mogadishu, Somalia

Postby travel2012 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 4:43 am

Hey guys, I'm planning to visit in Mogadishu, Somalia. So, can anyone tell the type of hotels they have and what are the safest ones and what are the prizes?
travel2012
mach

Re: Mogadishu, Somalia

Postby Mikethehack » Sat Feb 18, 2012 9:15 am

The Ranger bar, near Barakara market is quite good, as is the Pakistani chow house in Dagmada Kaaraan. Check out Checkpoint Pasta,a real fine Italian place. All the taxi drivers know where it is. As for places to stay? There's a bunch of cool places to stay around Hodan. They are all about the same, so you can take your pick. The Arbis in Hawa Abdi is also worth looking out for, ditto Soodaal in Barmudo.
I'm not really a proper reporter, due to the chronic lack of discipline, negligible attention span, and a certain juvenile difficulty taking serious things seriously.
Andrew Mueller.
Mikethehack
Pimpmasterus Generalismus

Postby travel2012 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:27 pm

you sound like a commedian but since I wanna go to Mogadishu I'm not prepering to laugh. I need what you know in Mogadishu right now.
travel2012
mach

Postby Kurt » Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:10 pm

travel2012 wrote: I need what you know in Mogadishu right now.

A tip:

Demanding information is more likely to earn ridicule rather than information here.

People here have been to Mog, but not as many as have been to Ecuador..so you might have to wait for an answer and you might not like the answer you get (like maybe someone will say "no hotel in Mogadishu is safe")

Besides staying at a hotel, what do you plan to do in Mogadishu?
Kurt
In Manus Manus

Postby vagabond » Sun Feb 19, 2012 1:52 am

Kurt wrote:
travel2012 wrote: I need what you know in Mogadishu right now.