Angola (or somewhere in Africa)

The Black Flag Cafe is the place travelers come to share stories and advice. Moderated by Robert Young Pelton the author of The World's Most Dangerous Places.

Moderator: coldharvest

Angola (or somewhere in Africa)

Postby pax » Thu Jan 03, 2013 4:52 am

Hey everyone,
I'm starting to do my homework on Angola and wanted to ask BFC for advice. I've never done Africa before so going to Angola would be new for me. I've done SE Asia and the Mid East (ten years ago) as far getting to a somewhat similar development level. I was thinking of taking a trip to see Jonas Savimbi's grave in Luena, Moxico Province. I was thinking of just doing the backpacker thing, and had I have a week or so. Aiming for sometime between May and October.

If this is a death wish, and I don't think it is, does anyone have other suggestions for destinations in Africa? I think it's time I make it there.

Thanks.
pax

Re: Angola (or somewhere in Africa)

Postby buffybot_in_beirut » Thu Jan 03, 2013 7:29 am

Not a good place to start. Very expensive, and the only foreigners are oil people, so as a genuine tourist you'll only make the corrupt and paranoid officials more paranoid.

If you want Portuguese-speaking Africa, go to Sao Tome or Mozambique, both of which are lovely.

If you want something as developed as the Middle East or SE Asia, go to Kenya, Ghana, South Africa (unsafe), Namibia (fantastic but not cheap), Botswana or maybe Gambia. You won't get anywhere in a week except the outskirts of the capital, so you need to choose a tiny country or one with a particularly attractive capital.
buffybot_in_beirut
BFCus Regularus

Postby rickshaw92 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 10:53 am

frica or anywhere else you have to take a longhaul flight to get to is a waste of money lmho. If you must then Buffys advice is spot on cept for the part about South Africa being dangerous. :)