Summer Job

The Black Flag Cafe is the place travelers come to share stories and advice. Moderated by Robert Young Pelton the author of The World's Most Dangerous Places.

Moderator: coldharvest

Summer Job

Postby bmarx » Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:12 pm

Hey guys, so here's the situation: I am a university student in Canada and I'm trying to find an interesting and well paying summer job. I am open to any and all suggestions, preferably legal though. I can work in the US and Canada and am looking to make 5000+ over the four months of summer. What would you guys do with all that time?
"If we're too lazy to learn history history, maybe we can learn plots." -Chuck Palahniuk
bmarx

Re: Summer Job

Postby SRR » Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:57 pm

We can do a back-of-the napkin calculation for this:

I can work in the US and Canada and am looking to make 5000+ over the four months of summer.

5000 / 4 = 1250 per month

1250 per month = 312.50 per week

= 44.64 per day.

that's one hand job a day, really. Locate yourself near an alley to ensure you don't need the expense of renting an orifice.... I mean, office.

am open to any and all suggestions, preferably legal though.

It's legal if you're consenting and out of the public eye.
"May these times be the stone that sharpens our steel." - السيد الحصاد
SRR
Hippie Dangerous

Postby Jumper » Tue Mar 10, 2009 3:55 am

Forest Fire Fighting--both Canada and the US hire every summer for that work. For the US, you must be a US citizen for federal forest fire fighting. I don't know about Canada, but I am sure someone could chime in. In the US, it pays about 12 dollars an hour.
Feral Jundi

http://www.feraljundi.com

A blog about the security contracting industry.
Jumper
BFCus Regularus

Postby vagabond » Tue Mar 10, 2009 5:00 am

Hm, I worked as a barista in Ireland and came out with US$12/hr and only superficial burns. You could get a longer visa and save 3000 euros which would be 5000 CAD. Or, cheaper, drive to Alaska and work in a fish factory.