DIY logging

The Black Flag Cafe is the place travelers come to share stories and advice. Moderated by Robert Young Pelton the author of The World's Most Dangerous Places.

Moderator: coldharvest

DIY logging

Postby Woodsman » Thu Apr 29, 2010 1:00 am

I am finally getting to my own land. I marked these trees 2 years ago, but it's a small timber sale, so I couldn't sell it on the commercial market - I was close, but no cigar. I will earn close to $2,000 doing it - but it will take me 4-5 weeks - maybe longer - because this is all in my spare time (I manage forests for a living - but I am not a logger).

I am using 2 chainsaws, a small kubota diesel garden tractor, a logging chain, a single axle trailer and a maul + using my truck & trailer to haul the logs. I have only cut 5 trees this evening and I have 231 marked total. I expect the log tally to be somewhere in the neighborhood of 1100 - but these aren't worth much per log because they are Red pine, which is a high production species (most of these are cut by processor that can cut more per hour than I can in a week).

$2,000 for manhandling 114,080 lbs. of wood up and down slopes to the mill isn't much money. I'll be lucky if I make $12 an hour, and I already know it's going to be a complete bitch, but there is a lot of value to finishing a project like this completely alone other than money.

No pics yet, but I will have some shortly.
Life is short. Eat, Drink & Be Merry!
Woodsman
BFCus Regularus

Re: DIY logging

Postby Michael » Thu Apr 29, 2010 10:38 pm

I spent about 15 years as a forestry consultant/contractor, so I know you're digging it.
Michael
BFCus Regularus

Postby DrakeS » Fri Apr 30, 2010 10:34 pm

Very cool man.
nice choice of words Kurt. "damn shame" My arent we eloquent. Just wait till someone has a few "choice words " for you, too. Uhhh duhhh...hmmmmh
DrakeS
mach

Postby roach coach » Mon May 03, 2010 5:45 pm