Satphone

questions, comments , film clips and pictures on guns and weapons and HEST.

Moderator: Hitoru

Satphone

Postby El Pelon » Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:58 pm

Looking at Iridium 9555 any thoughts or suggestions? Never had one before and we'll be needing one in the not too distant future.
El Pelon
BFCus Regularus

Re: Satphone

Postby RYP » Sat Jan 16, 2010 7:04 pm

Irridium sucks becauase of the low angle sats. Thuraya is your best bet followed by any sat provider who uses the upper satellite system.
RYP
Ownerus Websiteus Authorus

Postby Mikethehack » Sat Jan 16, 2010 8:54 pm

Is there a country left without GSM coverage? Probably two at most. GSM World used to be a good place to look.
http://www.gsmworld.com
I'm not really a proper reporter, due to the chronic lack of discipline, negligible attention span, and a certain juvenile difficulty taking serious things seriously.
Andrew Mueller.
Mikethehack
Pimpmasterus Generalismus

Postby Chimborazo » Sat Jan 16, 2010 11:18 pm

I'm guessing he wants this offshore communications. If so, I'd take a look at SSB too.
"The terrain is just too wiley coyote for me to risk it. Slam into arch, rope breaks, in the distance as I plummet 'meep meep'" -Caliban
Chimborazo
BFCus Regularus

Postby El Pelon » Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:33 am

Thanks for the input. Chimborazo is right, this will be a backup phone for offshore use in the South Pacific. The boat will be fully outfitted but I believe in redundancy. Plus we have a tendency to end up in places where the cell phones (we always carry a phone or two wherever we are working) don't have service and communication of some sort would come in very handy.
El Pelon
BFCus Regularus

Postby thewalrus » Fri Jan 22, 2010 11:50 pm

I have a 9555. The little known feature of the phone is that you can use it as a PPP dialup device with Linux and an external antenna. The speed is 2400 baud with v42bis compression (so no compression on JPGs, but "up to" 9600 bps on text and html).