Portable Solar Chargers

questions, comments , film clips and pictures on guns and weapons and HEST.

Moderator: Hitoru

Portable Solar Chargers

Postby Ultra Swain » Tue Mar 02, 2010 3:04 pm

Just in time for the rainy season I need to purchase some portable solar chargers for my laptop and video cameras. Any suggestions?
Geez,am I NOT ALLOWED TO BE INTENSE FOR JUST 10 FUCKING SECONDS??!!!!!!!
Ultra Swain
Snappyus Answerus

Re: Portable Solar Chargers

Postby Mikethehack » Tue Mar 02, 2010 3:12 pm

Brunton Solar Roll works well. However, it gets a bit technical cos it depends on the kinds of batteries you are using, plus local light conditions, temps etc. We would use a solar power geek to cobble together stuff for us for our various bits and bobs. He said the only place they work properly is at either pole, otherwise they are not very effective.

Probably better off using a car charger. Cheaper too.
I'm not really a proper reporter, due to the chronic lack of discipline, negligible attention span, and a certain juvenile difficulty taking serious things seriously.
Andrew Mueller.
Mikethehack
Pimpmasterus Generalismus

Postby thewalrus » Wed Mar 03, 2010 2:31 am

If you have access to a car (or any 12V lead acid battery), a car charger works great...

Since I started using solar power for off-grid telecom sites I have been maintaining a spreadsheet with basic information about portable (and non-portable, like 210W to 280W monocrystalline modules) solar systems. Here is a screenshot cut and paste from the section about portable thin film. In the US domestic market you can buy Powerfilm, Global Solar or Brunton. There are varying choices on whether you want rolling or folding. The $/watt is generally quite high for something like the Powerfilm 20W or 30W folder so you should be certain you really need it.